8 Weeks in the Woods: Let’s Do This

8 Weeks Woods

Here’s where the magic is gonna happen!

My family is heading to Michigan this summer! My husband has a job at a camp and I’ll be bringing my job and two cantankerous-but-delightful kids with me. My brother is coming to help with the kids (hurrah!). It’s the adventure of a lifetime for all of us, wouldn’t you say?

So what am I going to do with all of this time in nature, living the rustic life? I’ll have no AC and no cable TV (ok, ok, we are taking our digital entertainment library and we’ll be connected to Hulu and Netflix!), I’ll be surrounded by bugs, and I’ll be sharing a small cabin with two adult men and two small children.

But let me tell you: I’m going to take advantage of it!

I’ll work during the day, naturally. My clients support my temporary move and all, but the work’s gotta get done. (You know, it’s interesting how I almost ALWAYS lead with work. I’m so productivity-oriented, so married to the idea that I work, therefore I am. I’m going to “work” on that. There’s so much more to me than my output, and I better start believing that.)

8 Weeks to Clarity? 8 Weeks of Wonder? 8 Weeks to Self-Love?
Anyway, I’m going to launch into an 8 Week personal cleanse and clarity initiative. I’ve got to come up with a better name for this and patent the program. I’m not kidding. My brother is joining me in eating clean for the summer. That means, within reason (we don’t want any crazy-making): no processed foods, no white sugar, and no white flour. Not only does this virtually eliminate all of my trigger foods, but it’ll keep my mind and emotions more stable…and I’m going to need all the positive energy I can get.

Each week, I’m going to work from a chapter of The Slow Down Diet, by Marc David. Here’s how Marc’s approach is described on Amazon:

“…he shows that we are creatures of body, mind, and spirit and that when we attend to these levels simultaneously we can shed excess pounds, increase energy, and enhance digestion to feel rejuvenated and inspired. He presents an eight-week program that allows readers to explore their unique connection to food, assisting them in letting go of their fears, guilt, and old habits so they can learn to treat their bodies in a dignified and caring way.”

What’s really great about it is that there’s no actual DIET to follow. It’s very 12-step like, too. Marc–I like to pretend we’re old friends–believes that even those of us with eating disorders, like binge eaters and compulsive overeaters and emotional eaters, can transform our relationship with food by understanding our diet’s impact on every little facet of our being, and by infusing love and wisdom into every corner. It’s deep stuff, and I love it.

(Sidenote: I love it so much that I’ve enrolled in a coaching program through Marc’s Institute for the Psychology of Eating, beginning in October. My studies will run in tandem with my marketing business and personal self-development work [work!], and I’m very excited. This is just the beginning!)

I’m going to share this journey with you here, week by week. Not only will this help me personally,  but it will serve as a foundation for my future coaching work (work?! there I go again!). I will be bringing some recommended reading with me, too, and exploring some tangential topics, such as the Law of Attraction, the power of prayer and meditation, and Native American Spirituality. It’ll all fill my soul!

I’ll need my soul filled, because did I mention I’m sharing a small cabin with 2 men and two little kids for 8 weeks?

Thanks for checking-in, as always. I hope you’ll follow this blog over the summer!

One thought on “8 Weeks in the Woods: Let’s Do This

Leave a Reply

